OSGA Senate Minutes

May 3, 2024 Meeting

- I. Call to Order (President Brennan Jarnes) 6:31
- II. Roll Call & Determination of Quorum Completed
- III. Guest Speaker (None)
- IV. Approval of Minutes Approved unanimously
- V. Executive Reports
 - a. OSGA President Brennan Jarnes met with Dr. Tisa Mason today, informing of changes to SGA/OSGA relationship and separation. She was all in favor and supportive of OSGA as an organization. She advised about initiatives that are coming next year to have a positive impact on Online students. Also Online Student Chelsea Kiefer won TORCH Award this year for the first time. After elections this evening, Dr. Mason does want to do a meet and greet.
 - b. OSGA Secretary Julie Waring
 - c. OSGA Public Relations Officer Eileen Moore lots of documents showing history of the organization have been provided. Also met with Nikki Heitman who has lots of exciting things happening.
 - d. OSGA Faculty Advisor Nicole Heitmann met with Heather and Eileen and hopes to organize a meeting with Dr. Mason and the Provost to start moving forward with the incoming officers over the summer. After May 10 the website should show new incoming officers and the website should show only OSGA but there is a page that does show OSS.

VI. Committee Reports

- a. Senate Affairs Chair Ifiabor Norsworthy Committee has not been able to meet this month but does want to say thank you for the cord provided by Nikki Heitmann.
- b. Student Relations Chair Bradley Smart-Derryberry advised the Committee met and discussed setting up the committee to be as successful as possible next year
- c. Equity and Inclusion Chair Kurt George was not present to provide a report
- VII. Other University Committee Reports (None)
- VIII. Installation of New Members (None)
 - IX. Open Forum
 - X. New Business President Jarnes has posted the guiding document and will follow the procedure of opening the floor to nominations. Candidates will be asked to accept or decline the nomination and then candidates will be given 1 minute to present prior to election. Ballots will be sent to Senators as elections are initiated. Write in votes are accepted so long as the candidate accepts and is eligible.
 - a. OSGA Presidential Election Senator Norsworthy nominated Senator Flick who accepted the nomination. President James emailed ballots for the office to all Senators who were present at the meeting. Senator Flick was elected with 11

- ballots submitted. President Flick Pro Temp greeted the Senate and expressed enthusiasm for the coming year.
- b. OSGA Secretarial Election Senator Smart-Derryberry nominated Casey Self who accepted the nomination. President Jarnes emailed ballots for the office to all Senators who were present at the meeting. Senator Self was elected with 12 ballots submitted.
- c. OSGA Public Relations Officer Election Senator Flick nominated PRO Eileen Moore to continue in the role and graciously accepted. President Jarnes emailed ballots for the office to all Senators present at the meeting. PRO Moore expressed that the OSGA has made great strides in developing a working relationship that should serve the organization well. There are a lot of ideas that are underway to continue to build a relationship in the online FHSU student community who are the constituents of the organization. PRO Moore received 12 votes and was elected to continue in the position.
- d. Senate Affairs Chair Election Senator Norsworthy nominated Senator Kiliojor who accepted. President Jarnes emailed ballots for the office to all Senators present at the meeting. Senator Kiliojor expressed appreciation for the opportunity to work with the outgoing officers and reminded Senators that he has been very responsive and will continue to do so. Senator Kiliojor received 10 votes, representing 83.3% of the vote and was elected.
- e. Student Relations Chair Election Senator Smart-Derryberry nominated Senator George who had previously accepted the nomination. President Jarnes emailed ballots for the office to all Senators present. Senator George was not present to speak. Senator George received 11 votes and was elected to the position.
- f. Equity and Inclusion Chair Election did not have any nominations and will be filled by special election next year.

XI. Old Business

a. None

XII. Announcements

- a. New OSGA Officers for 2024-2025 were announced as indicated above
- Meritorious Service Award Recipients President Jarnes created a Meritorious Service Award which will include certificates. There are three classes of awards, Class 3 awards Woods, Treece, Keliojor, Flick, Tucker Class 2 awards Dixon, Self
 - Class 1 awards Smart-Derryberry, Anderson-Pullem, Norsworthy, Rader, George
- c. Farewell Address President Brennan Jarnes Expressed appreciation to Secretary Waring for the years of service she put into the Senate. He then went on to express appreciation for the work and contributions of the Senators. He proudly recounted the accomplishments of the body this year, including formation of OSGA, LEAD Act, Intra Committee communications, several proclamations, and the Inclusion

resolution. President Jarnes served as PR Officer and Chair of the Senate Affairs committee. He enjoyed serving in a more executive role while Presiding over the Senate and feels the Senate is now poised for tremendous success. He suggested that the new body is very careful to avoid going into political topics.

XIII. Adjournment at 7:22pm