APPLICATIONS FOR PRESIDENT'S DISTINGUISHED SCHOLAR AWARD

The President's Distinguished Scholar Award annually recognizes an FHSU faculty member with truly outstanding performance in scholarly/creative activities. Scholarly/ creative activities are understood to include the generation of new ideas or works of art, solutions to fundamental problems in a particular field, or the discovery of important new facts or models. This award is based on the quality, originality, impact, and significance of the recipient's scholarly work. University faculty are expected to be effective creators and communicators of knowledge, so the willingness and ability of the recipient to share knowledge and research skills with colleagues and students should be highlighted.

Written nominations and/or indications of interest are due in the Office of the Provost by **March 1, 2024**. If nominated, individuals will be notified immediately in order to prepare application files. Application files are due in the Office of the Provost by **April 15, 2024**. Nominees may remain in the candidate pool for up to three years (including year of application).

Eligibility

All unclassified employees of the University are eligible for consideration each year, even if they were previous recipients of the award. Former recipients should show substantial and qualitative contributions beyond those for which the previous award was made and are eligible for the award five years from the prior consideration. Previous applicants are encouraged to update their materials and reapply. Promotion candidates are encouraged to adapt their promotion portfolio and submit for the President's Distinguished Scholar Award.

Criteria

Faculty are evaluated by analysis of their documentation of performance in the categories of scholarly/creative activities, service and instruction. Candidates must have demonstrable success in instruction and service, but the primary focus of this award is on exceptional scholarly/creative activities.

The application file provided by the individual should contain:

- a. A vita documenting scholarly/creative activities, instruction and service.
- b. A case statement with supporting materials. This case statement should be introduced by an expressive and insightful personal letter to the committee emphasizing the most important achievements in the applicant's career. This letter is weighted very heavily in the decision-making process. Applicants are encouraged to emphasize the following attributes in their case statement:
 - Quality of scholarly/creative activity (regional/national presence)
 - Significance of candidate's contribution to "new knowledge" in the field
 - Consistency of scholarly/creative productivity
 - Evidence of how the candidate integrates scholarly/creative activity in instruction
 - Relevance of the candidate's scholarly/creative activity to the mission of the university/college/department.

- c. Supporting letters (up to 5) from internal and external constituencies sent as blind letters directly to the Office of the Provost.
- d. Other supporting information, as deemed appropriate by the individual.

Procedure

Applications will be reviewed by an evaluation committee and a recommendation will be forwarded to the President in time to be announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The evaluation committee is composed of a maximum of five members consisting of previous years' recipients. The Provost serves as chair of the committee and is responsible for administration of the award process. This year's members are: Dr. Laura Wilson, Dr. April Terry, Dr. Hendratta Ali, Dr. Grady Dixon, and Dr. Mary Martin.

The honoree is expected to give a scholarly lecture during the **PRESIDENT"S DISTINGUISHED SCHOLAR PROGRAM** held during the fall semester. The honoree also receives a check for \$1,500 and a medallion specially designed for the occasion by Jim Hinkhouse, former FHSU professor of art. The honoree is also recognized by a plaque that is placed in the Memorial Union.

Should you have questions, please contact any of the committee members or the Office of the Provost.