Outstanding FHSU nursing graduates named for spring 2018

HAYS, Kan. – Four graduates of Fort Hays State University’s Department of Nursing were recognized in a ceremony today with Leora B. Stroup Awards as the outstanding graduates of the spring 2018 graduates.

The pinning ceremony also recognized 27 graduating Bachelor of Science in Nursing students; 100 RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing students; nine Master of Science in Nursing students; and the first cohort of six Doctorate of Nursing Practice graduates.

This year’s Stroup Awards include a fourth, this one for the outstanding graduate of the Doctorate of Nursing Practice program, which is the first doctoral program for the university.

“The Stroup Awards exemplify the excellence in nursing that Miss Stroup promoted,” said Kathleen Ward, associate professor of nursing. “Recipients demonstrate outstanding achievement in academics, professional activities, community service and contributions to clinical nursing.”

This semester’s winner of the On-campus Bachelor of Science in Nursing Award is Katelyn Folks, Clay Center.

Her award letter says, “Katelyn altruistically gave two weeks of her summer to provide nursing care to medically disadvantaged residents in a third world country.” It also noted that “she is a very driven, caring, nursing student,” and during her clinical experiences, the letter says, “she performed exceptionally, with professionalism and knowledge.” The letter concluded, “She will make an exceptional registered nurse.”

The Outreach RN to BSN Award went to Shanna Carrillo, Hays, a charge nurse at HaysMed.

“Shanna is a very motivated individual; she portrays excellence in leadership and communication skills,” says the award letter. It continues, “She is always smiling, has a positive attitude and is an excellent role model.”

Tammie Williams, Hays, director of the Emergency Department at Hays Medical Center, was awarded the Master of Science in Nursing Award.

Her award letter says, “Ms. Williams’ accomplishments exceed the classroom to envelop the practice arena.  … Over the years Tammie has challenged herself intellectually to acquire the knowledge and skill set of a quality leader.” The letter also cites her work as an ICU nurse, a flight nurse and PICC line specialist. She is also the chair of the Unit Based Council at HaysMed.

Abbie Weatherley, Shawnee, a nurse practitioner in the St. Mary Medical Center Emergency Department, Kansas City, is the recipient of the first-ever Stroup Award as the Outstanding Doctorate of Nursing Practice graduate. “Abbie demonstrates a commitment to lifelong learning,” says her award letter. It continues, “Not only is Abbie a great student, she is also a wonderful teacher” and “has demonstrated academic excellence and leadership qualities with her peers.”

The Stroup awards were created in 1993 in honor of Leora B. Stroup, founder of the nursing program at FHSU, to honor her innovation and her passion for nursing. She began the university’s nursing program in 1952, using her clinical and military background.

When she began the nursing program, she was the only faculty member. Today, the program has advanced to degrees in Bachelor of Science of Nursing, Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science of Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing and the Doctorate of Nursing Practice and 25 faculty members.

Back to top