College of Education faculty attend training for accreditation site visitors

HAYS, Kan. – Dr. Janet Stramel, associate professor of teacher education at Fort Hays State University, recently attended and served as a trainer for a session of the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

Stramel, a national trainer for the CAEP, conducted training for new site visitors and for people who will serve as site team leads as well as conducting training on the CAEP’s advanced standards. She is also a member of the CAEP’s Accreditation Council, the body that determines whether to grant or withhold accreditation for institutions that train educators.

“The council is the sole accrediting body for educator preparation,” said Stramel. “Accreditation is a nongovernmental activity based on peer review that serves the dual functions of assuring quality and promoting improvement.”

Currently, more than 900 schools, including FHSU’s College of Education, are accredited by the CAEP.

Two other FHSU professors, Dr. Brooke Moore, assistant professor of advanced education programs and interim chair of the department, and Dr. Elodie Jones, assistant professor of advanced education programs, have been trained to be national site visitors and will be serving on teams in the near future.

Back to top